preacher curl pain

hey guys - I 24 and have been training reguarly throughout my 20’s. I’ve done preacher curls off and on and never had any problems. Recently I completed my first HST cycle. The weight I was able to preacher curl shot up dramatically (from 75x5 to 100x5). I was doing preacher curls as someone recommended on this site - keeping elbows close to the top of the pad. This is something I have never done before. Towards the end of the HST cycle, I began experiencing a lot of elbow pain. Is this because of my increase in weight? Possible muscle imbalances? Or maybe the advice I read on the site didn’t work for me? I’m not sure but 4 weeks later I still am avoiding preachers because of the pain and am focusing on incline curls instead. I suppose there are lots of possibilities, but any thoughts are welcome.

BTW, what’s up with tribex burps? Just had one. God I hate those :slight_smile:

Thanks guys

• GTJason

Years ago, I had my own preacher bench, and like you, I had progressed and worked at it. Then I started having the same pain kinda like at the insertions at the top of the forearm where it meets the lower biceps. I thought it was becasue I didin’t warm up enough, but I never got rid of that pain, until I stopped preacher curls altogether. I have been convinced since then, that they’re not for me, and I can do barbell/db curls freestanding and work it just as effectively. Also Zottman curls, incline db curls, etc.

It sounds as though you are not letting your upper arms rest on the pad as you normally would during a preacher curl. Lay off the preacher curls for a while, ice around your elbows 2-3x a day. And when you come back to the preacher curls use the pad to support your arms, and make sure your wrists are neutral and not bending towards you. That sometimes can cause forearm pain. As for the burps take tribex before you eat that gets rid of the burps…not sure which is worse tribex or the fish oil…