T Nation

Pre-Workout Supps for Energy

Ok, well Im new to lifting but I am new to not having energy at the gym! my problem is where I work I we are extremely busy and I am currently on 12 hour days, I tried different caffeine products before going to the gym and nothing is working, actually seems like their just keeping me from sleeping, I tried superpump 250 and basically it just gave me a stomach ache the next day, my question is what are some supps that you guys have had experience in the past and has worked for you before going to the gym and any recommendations on what to try? thanks guys

How about you just get a big, cheap cup of coffee instead of throwing your money on, what is basically, a tub of sugar and caffeine.

black coffee. cheap and does the trick

http://www.charlespoliquin.com/Supplements/energizers-part1.php

Dramatically up your water intake:
Down a big glug of water-30 mins before working out. I shoot for 1.5 litres-enough to make you feel a bit bloated and sick for 5 mins after.

Makes a night and day difference in workout energy and endurance.Then take small sips between every set

drinking a big gulp of water before working out? IMO that sounds like a recipe for lethargy and a stomach ache. I've tried about 10 different pre-work out supps and I have extremely high tolerance to stims. The thing the works the best is to just get some caffine tabs which are about $5 for a bottle of 100-200 (200mg tabs)and eat a good carb loaded meal for you pre-workout snack.

Cheap, no water bloat, and does the trick with out buring a whole in your pocket and since your working 12 hr shifts I assume you could use all the money you can get

What time do you usually train? If you train after work, like, anytime after 5:00pm, it's no wonder you have trouble sleeping when you take a supplement containing caffeine.