Practicing to Increase Load On Olys

How do you guys practice to move up in poundage in the snatch and clean and jerk?

I don’t know if this method is the most effective but this is how I do it:

I try to do at least 10 reps (5x2 or 5x3) full snatch or clean and jerk, i.e without losing the bar forward or backward, with practice weight (90% RM). Then I do high pulls with a weight I can’t get overhead or cleaned for 5x3.

Is this reasonable?

How do the real olympic lifters do it?

For moving up on cleans I do clean pulls. Basically you do the first pull to the waist, and set up for second pull…kinda like a high deadlift, but you do it like you were going to clean it so there’s no hesitation.

Come on people!

Where are the olympic lifters?!

Bump.

I’m just getting started in this sport, but I’ll say a few things and maybe other more experienced will correct me:

• That doesn’t seem like very much volume per lift. Is 10 reps enough to develop technique and strengtH?

• That seems like a really high load to lift EVERY workout. I find it easiest to make technique corrections with weights in the 80-90% range–heavy enough to demand technique, light enough to make the adjustment.

• You have to build up, peak, taper, test, and back off in this sport just as do with others–progressing all the time to heavier and heavier weights isn’t an option. I would be more specific about this, but how to periodize oly training is something I’m still trying to figure out and something that, at present, I leave in the competent hands of my coach.

Maybe others will have more to say about this. And speaking of coaches, how’s your technique? If you’re doing the full lifts, a coach is almost a must.

Give www.qwa.org a look through.

I’m just beginning to implement the Oly lifts into my training, but what they do there is much different from what you’re talking about.