T Nation

Powerlook vs. 915

Hey there,

I could use some help chosing my next program to follow.

My goals are:

• gaining lean muscle mass (without putting on fat)
  • getting stronger with the big lifts (back squat, deadlifts, bench press, and maybe also overhead press), particularly increasing 1 RM
  • looking better naked.

I've been running some variations of 5/3/1 for the last two years, but I feel that it might be time to try something different.

Your powerlook program and your 915 program caught my eye. So here are some questions:

• which program would be better for my goals?
  • Can the powerlook program be done with back squats instead of front squats, because that's what I want to improve?
  • can these programs be combined with, say, your 5/2 diet?

To be honest, the powerlook program looks even more attractive to me, so I'm primarily looking for a way to make that work for my goals, if that's possible.

Looking forward to hearing your ideas.

Thanks a lot in advance and greetings from Germany.

Do the Power look sets/reps progression with the 4 lifts you want to improve. really it's just a progression model you can fit in any exercise you want to improve BUT you will have to figure out which assistance exercises to use to work on your individual weaknesses in the lift you select.

Hey CT,

Thanks for your quick response. I was thinking about the following assistance exercises for the back squat:

Phase 1:
Paused back squat
Split squat (or maybe front squat)

Phase 2:
1 and 1/4 back squat
1/2 back squat

Phase 3 (here things get tricky):
Maybe again 1/2 back squat?

Do you have any comments or recommendations on this?

How can I make recommendations about assistance exercises designed to solve your weaknesses (for the first 2 phases) or emphasize your strengths (phase 3) if I have no idea what your weakness and strengths are and who your lifting looks like?

I understand!