Powerlifting: Which Program First?

Hey T-Nation,

I’m looking for suggestions for which powerlifting program to run first. I have lifted for many years but have always trained for hypertrophy. I’m not a beginner, but this will be my first attempt at a structured powerlifting program (other than running Smolov several years back). I’m not running gear so looking for programs that will be effective natty.

Maxes:
Squat: PR of 405, current 1RM 345
Bench: PR and current 1RM of 295
Deadlift: PR of 500, current 1RM of 445

What program should I run first?

One you can progress on and enjoy doing. Sorry if that’s vague but it’s the best answer I have. If you can’t progress why bother (obvious but often overlooked) and if you don’t like the program chances are you won’t do it very long. Best idea is to have a look at mostly late intermediate programs on the net, pick one you think you would like to stick with, come back and then see what the concensus is. Finding info is fairly easy, I have not read all of them but there is a whole program review series on powerliftingtowin, might be an idea to start there.

1 Like

Pick One, stick with it, and see what happens
Already said, if you dont like it,move on to something else

My 2 choices are Swedes 5th Set or Jamie Lewis Destroy the Opposition.

If you have a go in and just do work mentality and don’t want to lift at high percentages of your max, then a sheiko variations sounds like it wold be good. I don’t have personally have experience here, but that’s become my understanding of what kind of people do best with it.