T Nation

Powerlifting/Strength/'Cut'

First of all hi T Nation!

I guess I’m looking for a bit of advice or reasurance regarding my next 6 months of training.

I’ve decided to start Powerlifting competitively (I’ve never done anything like this before) after all my gym mates and trainers have talked me into it and they think I’ve got great potential.

After a bit research and talking to a couple of guys that compete I’ve decided to run ‘Jim Wendlers 5/3/1 Powerlifting style’ programme and I’m really excited to start.
However after lifting and eating, my bodyfat % has just got to the stage where I could do with about 1 months worth of dieting (I’m probably about 18%)

Why question is :

Because this programme is based on percentages of 1RMs will my strength be increasing if I’m in a slight caloric deficit for ashort time? The way i see it, After about a month my strength will probably plateau and by this time I should of lost enough fat too feel comfortable and happy again, so calories can resume high.
I will be including 15-20 mins low impact cardio on OHP and Bench day and Hill sprints on deload week.

Does this sound reasonable? Thank you :slight_smile:

If your interested in current stats :
5ft 8
82kg
20 years old
Deadlift - 180
Squat - 142.5
OHP - 70 lol
Bench - 95 lol

So you want to compete in powerlifting, you’re not very strong to start with, and your plan of attack is to cut calories and weight? This does not sound reasonable at all.

Im from the UK so these weights are in KG

Deadlift 400
Squat 320
OHP 154
Be ch 210

From what everyone has said I have a decent base.

[quote]Masochist wrote:
Im from the UK so these weights are in KG

Deadlift 400
Squat 320
OHP 154
Be ch 210

From what everyone has said I have a decent base.

[/quote]

Yes, I get that. I didn’t think you weighed 82 pounds. It’s a base, your goal should be getting stronger. Get strong first if you want to compete in powerlifting, worry about cutting weight after you’re strong.