T Nation

Powerlifting Split 10 Weeks Out from Peak Week

Im currently on my de load week and will be 10 weeks out from my peak week before my meet in June. Ive been playing around with some splits but cant find a decent one and wondering if anyone has any good suggestions to fully maximise strength gains with frequency per week as i enjoy volume training, and tend to de load every 4 weeks.

I am new to powerlifting and was a bodybuilder before hand so may be thinking with more a BBing brain rather than Plifting unfortunately. I am wanting to train the lifts ideally twice a week with 1 deadlift session and a variation session, again im not sure which day that could be on for it to be most effective!

Currently i was doing;
Mon - Squat, deadlift variation
Tues - Bench, Rows and presses
Thurs - Front squat, strict press and presses + Rows
Friday - Deadlifts, rows and RDL’s
Saturday - Accessory work (arms and isolation stuff).

I do feel like some stuff gets in the way just not sure how to juggle best or even go 3 heavy days with 2 squats, 2 bench and 1 deadlift day, finishing with an accessory day?!

Any help would be awesome, wana keep it simple but have amp recovery before each session.

Cheers

If I were in your spot, I’d hop on a tried and true peaking program. Run that through this meet and give your plan a go after. After a meet all you really need to do is accumulate volume so you can try something new like this your first few weeks back, then take a deload and adjust weekly volume up or down from there based on how things went

As far as that specific plan, I’d switch around the front squat and deadlift days personally. Better to have a lackluster front squat day because you’re sore from deadlifts than vice versa

Definitely pick a proven program. You may find Cube is to your liking, or Paul Carter’s Base Building.

I’ve never competed before so take my words with a grain of salt