T Nation

Powerlifting Shoes Help or Not?

I am a highschool student, ive been lifting for 4 years now. Im still having bit of problems getting down to the 90 degree angle for sqauts. It seems like i want to go on my toes more than my heal which is wrong. Right? I was wondering if i got the powerlifting shoes with the insert in the heel, would it help me out and make a difference?

I have no idea about the shoes, but it sounds like you may be lacking flexibility in your lower back, hamstrings, or even calves. Try stretching these areas (not right before a workout though, sometime at night). Also, you can try overhead squats. They've done amazing things for my flexibility. As far as shoes go, I wear an old ass pair of Airwalks which are worn so thin I can feel pretty much any imperfect in the ground through them. They're the closest thing I can get to squatting barefoot without getting kicked out of my gym.

What form are you using?

How wide is your stance and how much are you sitting back.

I find it next to impossible that someone can't squat to 90 degrees at your age. I would use the search feature and look for Dave Tate's article on Box Squatting. Westside suggests squatting with a flat soled shoe, although it's not impossible to do with a shoe that has a heel. I'd recommend to go without the heel though if you can. It'll teach you how to sit back and not down into the squat as well as "spreading the floor apart" with your feet. These things should make it "easier". Good luck.
-MAtt

Yea, if you can't get down to 90 degrees with a shoulder width stance, you REALLY need to work on your flexibility, and these shoes aren't going to change that. You are asking for an injury if you are really that inflexible.

Actually I have another question. How do you sit down?