Powerlifting One Lift a Day

I’ve recently started lifting with 5x5 then Starting Strength (I’m new to lifting and am concentrating on losing weight with these compound lifts). Everything I read points to 3 day-a-week cycles. Are there any disadvantages of doing these compound lifts one per day (same lifts, one per day)? Are there any potential physical problems for a beginner increasing reps/sets (to maybe 6x6 or 6x8 with shorter rests)? Also, any potential problems in doing a 5x5 (or 6x6?) deadlift if that’s the only lift for the day?

I appreciate the help.

I’m not sure what you’re asking.

Do you mean is it OK to just follow SS or should you change it? Yes, it is better to follow SS. Generally you should not change a program that’s been set out for you. When it no longer works, then you move on.

Usually when people stop progressing on SS they do well with 531, Texas Method or Greyskull LP. Of those three 531 is usually the one that will last longest because of how versatile it is. Realistically you can keep using 531 indefinitely and just use different templates depending on what you want to achieve.

Yeah…no, use the weight training for building strength and muscle. Focus on diet along with some condition to shed unwanted Body Fat.

Any reason you fell that 6 x 6 is better than 5x5?

Make sure im clear are you asking if you can do the same lift everyday?

yes …its called recovery.

Hey, thanks for the reply, I appreciate the assistance. Yeah, sorry, I should have been more clear in my post. So, the idea would be something like this:

Monday: Squat (6x6)
Tuesday: Bench (6x6)
Wednesday: Row (6x6)
Thursday: rest
Friday: Deadlift (6x6)
Saturday: Press (6x6)
Sunday: rest

My schedule is so tight that the 3 lifts in Stronglifts and SS come up against the time I have. I can get to the gym every day, but I don’t have a lot of time once there.

The 6x6 would be to simply increase total volume.