T Nation

Powerlifting Novice Looking for Recommendations

Hello,

Well, as the title states, I am just getting into powerlifting (from previous swimming and rowing) and was wondering what to get as my first bench shirt and squat suit/briefs. Something simple, forgiving, and hopefully cheap is what I am looking for.

I really notice that when I move my squat stance out wide (I am 6'3" with long legs so my toes almost touch the sides of the power rack) it really tears up my hips. Would the briefs help with this?

Thanks for any advice.

PS. Best gym lifts so far have been:

Box Squat (parallel) 255x2
Bench 195
Deadlift 315

Congrats on entering in to the world of powerlifting. Out of curiosity, what is your weight?

Briefs will make all the difference in the world with hip pain and wide-stance squats.

As for a bench shirt, I would hold off on that for awhile and work on getting your technique and strength up.

Here is a beginner's equipment list I would recommend:

1. Briefs: this will help with stability and build strength for squats (Titan makes a great pair that are basically a half-suit that are more comfortable than Inzer IMO)

2. Belt: If it fits in your budget, get a good lever belt because it will more than likely last you forever.

3. Chalk: This will really help with your deadlifts and will be used more and more as you progress.

4. Suppliments: To start out, Protein and creatine. Also, a multi-vitamin will help.

5. Program: Find a program you like and stick with it! If you go the westside route, add a pair of medium powerbands to this list. If you have the budget, get the whole set.

And now for some closing words of wisdom:

1. Eat more than you think you should.
  2. Sleep more than you think you should.
  3. Lift more than you think you should.

Welcome to the club, now stop typing and get your butt to the gym!

great post. If you decide to go single ply, my z-suit was a great suit to start out with. It was easy to learn and really cheap.