Powerlifting Competition - Am I Ready?

Guys,

I’ve been focused on building strength for the last year and I’ve put on quite a bit, but I’m not sure if it’s enough to think about competing yet. I’m a total newb to the powerlifting world.

I have no one with experience working with me. It’s all been studying videos and books and working on the gym alone.

I’m 37, 5’6" tall, 205lbs. 18%bf.

My best lifts so far are:

Bench - 275
Squat - 350
Dead - 375

I honestly think I can get to 300 on my bench, 375 on squat and possibly 400 on dead by December. I’ve been doing a combination of Sheiko and “Colorado Experiment” training with a strength diet.

I’m near Cincinnati and they had a competition recently, but I didn’t go because I just didn’t feel ready yet. I’d like to think about trying a competition in the spring.

So are my numbers something I could take to a competition and not look like an idiot? Do competitions now have age brackets as well as weight classes?

Competition classes are broken down by age, weight and ability (totals).

I’ll tell you what was told to me. Waiting to be “ready” for your first competition is a waste of time and usually an excuse not to compete. Just enter one. Word is everybody is cool and helpful and you’ll have a great time. My first competition is a week after this saturday.

I’m not “ready,” i.e. I’m not lifting the weights I wanted to be lifting by this time, but I’m going anyway with what I’ve got.

Our lifts are comparable and I’m competing. I’d say you’re ready.

edit: Dang - I meant that to sound friendlier than it does. I guess what I’m saying is “Go for it.” You’ll have a good time and you’ll learn what needs work. I’m nervous as hell, but I’m very interested in seeing what my performance will be and what mistakes I’ll make.

That is a respectable total at the local level.There is no time like the present to compete.I say go for it!!Best of training to you.

Heck yeah man go for it.
God bless, Lonnie