T Nation

Powerlifting Aesthetics: An Unexpected Journey

Whats up guys figured I’d start a contest prep journal to log my journey towards my 1st physique competition, the npcmidwest.com/events/st-louis-pro-figure-bikini-and-npc-midwest-championships/ as a Novice physique competitor on March 17 - 2 months away!! Hopefully a log will help me gauge my progress and make it easier on myself, since this is the first time I’ve had to cut/diet. Also a place to post all of my pics lol

Insight/Background:

As of this post, I am 22 years old at 157lbs bw

I have been competing in powerlifting for the past 4 years, hitting elite totals in both the 148 & 165 lb weight classes. My most recent competition was the Night of the Living Dead (NOTLD) in 2011, where I missed a 512 pull @ 20 yrs old. Since then my PR’s have been a:

350 Bench @ 157 lbs

500 x 3 deadlift @ 151 lbs

405 x 3 squat I just hit last week, unfortunately no vid :frowning:

Training:

I’ve never focused on aesthetics at any point of my training really, it’s all been strength based - wrestling in high school and the powerlifting during college. I’ve gradually shifted towards a mountaindog style of training with the big 3 still being the heart & soul of my training. My goal is to compete in both physique while maintaining an elite level in powerlifting

Physique:

These 2 pics were taken about 4 days ago

https://sphotos-a.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ash3/20016_10151431563015120_1487083831_n.jpg

Front flexed a month ago
https://sphotos-b.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ash3/59597_10151353583665120_598197209_n.jpg

Back relaxed a month ago

Lat spread a couple of months ago

Back same time