Power-Missing Link?

hey, there, i’ve been a lurker for far too long, and have learned quite a bit (so thankyou)
-dispite probably hundreds of hours logged here, books, and other articles and websites, theres something in my own training that i haven’t been able to pinpoint yet

i’ve been traing for 5 or 6 years, with plenty of bodyweight training for years before that (quite simplistic though, pushups and countless abwork), however i’ll be the first to admit most of my efforts were a waste of time or even worse, due to lack of direction and proper knowledge

-my focus has always been strength and power (and my lack of endurance resounds this truth), but i (like many idiots in highschool) focussed on upper body for the first few years

-now, i tend to be injury prone, and i think its partly from a lack of sports and that sort of thing when young and growing, and partly because i’ve knotted myself up to the mess of a 40yr old whos been lifting heavy without recovery all his life

-i’m only including these details because i’m afraid my inactivity while younger applies to my lack of power and coordination now

-i’m no magician but i’m relatively in good shape strength wise (260, 385(PL style) and 405 at 185, 6’1", and about 210 c+j, and 160 snatch), and i put most of my emphasis on power and have done a fair bit of speed work…but after all that…my vertical always seems to be lacking…after all of this work…

i dont know how my “sports performance” is, because i havnt really done to much, but the little that i try, i definitly feel much more powerful and in control than before

-anyways, besides bigger #'s, a higher vertical is/has been one of my main goals if not #1, but it doesnt seem to reflect what i should (in my mind) be able to do

-my vj is probably about 27-28 standing (hand touch), but even with a run up i dont get that much higher