Power Cleans for Traps Mass

I know this is the bodybuilding forum, and most frown on olympic lifts etc, but I figured this might help somebody who can’t seem to put size on their traps.

Yesterday I decided to do power cleans from the hang before my deads, and worked up to a max set of 3. The soreness today in my traps is absolutely unreal. I realize some might attribute this to the deadlifts but it’s extremely rare that I get sore traps from deads. I’m thinking maybe the explosive nature of the cleans allowed me to really overload the traps, in a different way than shrugs do (I also do shrugs on a different day). Btw I only got up to 225 or so on the cleans.

Hopefully somebody can benefit from this.

Rack Pulls are better.

and shrugs are even better

[quote]That One Guy wrote:
Rack Pulls are better.[/quote]

Do you try to toss a shrug in there for good measure after each rep?

[quote]That One Guy wrote:
Rack Pulls are better.[/quote]

I disagree. Good but not better.

I’m a noob, but my traps are sore for days after doing rack pulls. Granted, you can’t judge the success of an exercise by soreness alone but it is what it is. The power clean is a good trap builder because when you break down the movement you are doing: a deadlift, a shrug, a high pull…all 3 hit the traps.

I think it’s a matter of what you’ve done vs where you’re going. If you’ve done nothing but shrugs then my bet is that doing some rack pulls for a few weeks will help greatly.

[quote]inkaddict wrote:
That One Guy wrote:
Rack Pulls are better.

Do you try to toss a shrug in there for good measure after each rep?[/quote]

What’s the point in that? You either do rack pulls or shrugs. No one can shrug what they work up to on rack deadlifts. Unless it’s some pansy ass weight. Trying to do a heavy rack deadlift/shrug hybrid is asking for an injury…i think.

I don’t get how peoples traps don’t get sore as hell from rack deadlifts