Power cleans and spine pain

Since I incorporated Power Cleans to my program (it’s been 4 weeks) I experience some pain in the middle area of my spine…Am I doing something wrong?

I would assume that you are not keeping your back in a straight/neutral position.

I have found that really bracing the abs helps to maintain a neutral position.

Something like this (except with a overhand grip):

I’d drop the cleans. Olympic lifting is a SPORT of its own. Without consistent and quality instruction it’s next to impossible to get the technique perfect. Why risk injury when you have such alternatives as speed squats (w/ bands and chains)

I don’t know. I was self-taught after reading CT articles. I am only using the power versions. I went in an OL meet a couple of months ago just for fun and the lifters there said my technique was pretty good.

The technique really is not that hard. Once you have a proper dead lift down (i.e. straight/neutral back) it is easy:
1 dead lift the bar to just above your knees
2 jump upwards (don’t pull with your arms!)
3 drop the bar if doing pulls or catch the bar if doing full versions

OL may be a sport in its self. But lifting large amounts (i.e. bodyweight +) of weight above your head is a magnificent feeling. I doubt I would have suck at resistance training if I did not have the enjoyment of Olympic weightlifting. Squats may be good for you but can anyone really say they are fun to do? Snatches, cleans and jerks are fun to do!

But that being said if something is hurting something is wrong. The back should no be hurting at all, especially the middle back. To me this would indicate that you are rounding your shoulders and upper back. But you probally do need someone to have a look at your technique.