Power Clean Video

hey people, i just started doing power cleans and i ve found it to be the best exercise i ve ever done. it makes the whole body function as a whole and i like that about it, any ways i have clip of me doing very light wight, check out the clip and tell me what im doing wrong…

constructive criticisms please. Thanks

Well I’m not an expert, but I have watched lots of people do the exercise. I see lots of problems, but I can’t put them into words.

One thing though, at the very start you’re not getting your hips low enough, so you end up bend your back.

Couple things…Most importantly, what are your goals? What is your purpose for doing powercleans?

Some notes on form from someone who doesn’t have a lot of o-lifting experience, but on things that are pretty basic.

It’s going to be hard to get in a good position at the bottom with the 5 or 10lb plates on either side. Even the 25s. Try to find something that you can elevate the plates on so they fall near where the 45s would place the bar. That or use bumper plates.

Secondly, the most power in the movement should come through popping your hips through…not using your arms. Think of your arms as just hooks that are holding on to the bar.

And lastly, your end position is not correct. Your elbows should be brought up and ideally the bar would be resting on your front delts with your elbows poining in line with your shoulders. Fix those things and then come back.

-MAtt

Hi Salem,

As AN Olympic Weightlifting coach I could tell you whats wrong until I am blue in the face, but that’s not going to help you any.

What you need to do is get an Olympic Weightlifting coach to watch you and work with you. Not a personal trainer or a trainer who has taken a weekend course on Olympic Weightlifting but an actual coach.

It is good that you are aware of the whole body movement concept and this in itself is the start.

Keep up the work.

Regards

Andy

[quote]Matgic wrote: