T Nation

Power Clean - The Catch

I'm having trouble 'catching' the weight in a power clean. I'm very new to training, and I can't get my elbows parallel to the ground in the catch position. A friend says I need to work on the flexibility of my arms, but is there anything specific I should do? My forearms and biceps wind up perpendicular to the ground, not parallel. Any thoughts?

i think you will need a video. not that i could help you anyway. i clean using dumbells and i am perfecting the movement everytime. it is fun

Just takes practice, practice, and more practice. I was in the same situation you are in when I first started power cleaning.

Stretch your wrists (pulling back on your fingers) before power cleaning. Something else that also helped me is that I would catch the bar low (on the clavicles) and roll the bar up towards my throat, so that the arms go up naturally. After doing this a few times with the bar, it becomes natural that your elbows become parallel with the floor. You just don't have the flexibility yet, but keep at it and you'll get it in no time.

I have the same problem. I try to stretch before i train, after i warm up good, i stretch a lil bit. And i stretch before bed. Another thing i do is rack a weight like im doing front squats, and hold a really heavy weight in the recovery position for a count of 20 or so. I do 4 or 5 sets of this before i clean.

My flexibility and tech. seemeed to get better once i started doing more front squats with my arms under the bar, rather than folded on top. Just keep it up man. Im at the same place you are. Its just work work work! good luck

Can you rack the bar on your shoulders properly for front squats?

You have to learn to trust yourself and relax the death grip you probably have on the bar so the bar can roll onto your fingers.