T Nation

Posture for Squats and Oly Lifts

Hi T NATION,

with no prior weight training experience, I started practicing weightlifting this year, and I did it from January to June. I quit for the summer because of two consecutive minor injuries (hip tendonitis in early June, due to squatting, and a sprained ankle mid July, because of hiking during the holidays).

Now I just got back to training, and I want to take it very slow and smart so that I can progress steadily and get the most out of my training time.

Now I have some postural issues that I want to address and some anatomical concerns, so to speak.

The fact is that I have a slight (I believe) case of knock-knees, or genu valgum.

(See image.)

Now while this picture is quite old, it is the one I have in which the condition can be seen most prominently.

I started wondering how my condition might be affecting my squatting (and thus, my Olympic lifts).

I always found that I could not go parallel (or below parallel), even with weightlifting shoes, if I kept my feet facing forward. By doing some stretching for the hams and the calves, and keeping my feet externally rotated at a 45° angle, I found that I could go parallel and somewhat below.
I found that acceptable, so I adopted that stance as my usual squat stance for several months.

Around June, I tried squatting with the heel of my feet around shoulder width, but rotating my feet much more externally (60-70° angle). I found that I could go much deeper this way, and I thought the stance was much more comfortable in general. However, I felt some inflammation around the sides of my hips after my workouts. I think it was tendon pain and not muscle pain since, in one instance, it persisted for almost two weeks of inactivity.

Now, I am trying to adjust my squat stance and my catch stance in the snatch and in the clean and jerk with two objectives in mind:
- maximum performance
- least long-term damage to joints, tendons and ligaments.