Post Your Pre-Workout Routine

Hey guys,

I want to hear about people’s pre-workout ritual. Mainly from the nutritional aspect, I’m curious about things such as: how long before your workout is your last meal? What does your pre-workout meal consist of? I know a lot of you consume some amount of Surge pre-workout, as I have before, but I am a college student and I need to conserve my post-workout drinks. How do you approach pre-workout?

Wake up around 8 and eat breakfast. Go to 9 o’ clock class. Pop bcaas at 10. Start lifting at 10:30.

when bulking I was eating about 1 hr prior to working out (Popeye Smoothie- Berardi) carbs, fats, protein

now that I’m cutting, I’m eating about 2-2.5 hrs prior to workout of a high fat, protein shake and sipping on 10g BCAAs during the workout.

Im a student as well and I can Identify with the saving.

My cost effective plan consists of:
at least three meals prior to working out usually a 2-2.5 hour betwean each meal.

Preworkout 30 minutes before: 5g Creatine, 5g BCAAs, 10 grams glutamine. sometimes about 13 grams whey protein if im hungry

Post workout (directly after workout)- 30g protein shake followed by 15g glutamine 10g Leucine and a little later 10g creatine.

After my post workout mix, I eat a meal about an hour to an 1.5 hours later.

The best investment I’ve made is to buy all supplements in bulk at 5-6 month spans so I can save money for groceries and whatnot.

I go to Tim Hortons, buy a medium coffee, a donut and I’m go to go! Best workout I ever had was after a chocolate dipped donut.

I eat chicken and rice/pasta at around 3:00, and by 4:45 I’m at the gym.

I drive home, change and have a small shake of Power Drive and L-Leucine before I take off too.

Then I get there, do mobility stuff and start training with my gatorade/whey peri-workout shake (with L-Leucine)

Around two hours prior, I have a meal consisting of mostly protein and fat, supplemented with one scoop of L-Leucine.