T Nation

Post Workout Nutrition on a Budget

I’m a full time college student on an EXTREMELY tight budget, I can’t afford Surge or the like. Any suggestions on what I should do for post workout nutrition?
Thanks

Sell Blood (or Plasma!) Its worth it.

I believe there is a great market for kidneys too…

Try concocting your own shakes based on the info here. Skim milk powder, eggs, and milk have long been the staple of post workout shakes for students. But I think if you’re going to buy actual supplements you should pay for the good quality stuff.

[quote]WhoIsJohnGalt wrote:
I’m a full time college student on an EXTREMELY tight budget, I can’t afford Surge or the like. Any suggestions on what I should do for post workout nutrition?
Thanks[/quote]

I’ve thought about this before. Surge is approximately $2 a serving. What the fuck could you get of any nutritional value for less than $2 a serving? Gatorade + protein bar? Easily $4. Sugar diluted in water + Grilled Chicken sandwich from McDonalds? That’d be marginally cheaper, but severly lacking in nutritional value.

Bar none, you cannot get anything better for post-workout than Surge, at any price. It is just a happy coincidence that Biotest’s policy of only selling diectly to us allows them to make Surge not only the best, but also the cheapest choice.

If your budget is that tight, how well are you really eating the other 4-5 meals each day? Maybe your money should go towards that. I have attained very nice results at time, and maintained my health without using Surge. If you can’t afford quality food, I even think Dr. Berardi might say Surge shouldn’t be your first consideration.