Possible Shoulder Problem

Hi all,
I recently started lifting some weights to put on some muscle. For the past 3 weeks I’ve been on a split program training 4 times a week.

2 days ago when I was doing my shoulder training routine I encountered a little problem. I went through the lateral raises both regular and front, but when I got to the bent-over lateral raises I got a stinging feeling in my rear/posterior deltoid muscle.

At least that’s the muscle I think I got some pains in, since I’m not so experienced that I can tell exactly if it was that muscle or not. The pain didn’t occur when I made the ordinary side raises nor at the front ones, only this one.

Nevertheless I stopped immediately so I didn’t do too much harm and proceeded with some military presses, where I didn’t have too much troubles either. I’m 100% sure it wasn’t due to sore muscles, but what could it be then?

Yesterday I had my breast/triceps day, did incline benchpress, flat bench with dumbbells (since I read here it’s better that way), regular flys and the upright sitting breast machine. I felt like the deltoids was a little tense, even though that could be from the training the day before, so I didn’t want to go full out.

It concerns me a little since I’ve read so many times in here to “take care of those shoulders!” What to do now? Wait and see what happens next time I get to my shoulder day or give it an extra day or two of rest, or what do you suggest?

Check your form using lighter weights then gradually increase. Make sure you have adequate nutrition ie protein for you muscles to heal. You could be over training that area. I don’t like to do rear delts the day after back.

If an exercise causes pain I don’t do it. If I can work around it I do. Let injuries heal or else they get worse and your training will suffer more. Good luck.