Possible knee problem

I was reading back through the old issues and re-read some on knee problems. In one it said that you might have a knee problem even if there is no pain but something just doesn’t feel right. …

Well my right knee has been acting a little weird lately. It just feels sloppy or something. I can’t really pinpoint it because it isn’t a constant thing, just when I move certain ways. I think it is most noticable when I move side to side.

I am a volleyball coach (boys HS) and regularly play along with my kids. and while I don’t remember doing anything to it I am an old gym class hero so I fling my body around quite a bit.

Is this something I should just rest up on for a week? Or should I take it a little more seriouse? I have never had a knee problem before so I am a little concerned.

Thanks,

Ugh, a knee injury!

I have been blessed with several knee injuries from different sources.

Knee weakness like you described has happened to me playing soccer or hockey; in soccer I got run over and ended up with a fairly serious injury, in hockey, I caught an edge on the ice from a strange angle and felt a “plink”. I feel the plink was a “tweaking” of my tendons. After this occurred, I noticed that I didn’t feel “sure” on that knee for a while. I took about 2-3 weeks off from exercise and it was fine after that. I guess that is what you mean by sloppy? I noticed it didn’t feel like I could place a lot of stress on it. If you are walking that is a good sign :).

I think I can say from my own experience if it was anything other a mild “tweaking” its likely you would have moderate fluid buildup in your knee and ankle and you would experience quite a bit of swelling and pain. The fact you don’t have this would lead me to believe that you have a very mild injury that will heal if you lay off of it for a few days.