T Nation

Possible Hernia

So today I went to see my doctor about a nagging pain I started getting about a week ago, in my lower right abdominal region, that's become more frequent, as well as severely painful. I first noticed it when I was working inside a duct (I clean air duct for a living, among other construction services) and was really dehydrated. It was something like 110 inside and I was wearing a tyvek suit to keep insulation off of me, so obviously it was hot as hell. After I got out was when the pain hit.

Typically I label most pains as a 3 or 4 on a scale of 1 to 10. This pain was more annoying than anything (a 1 or 2), like a cramp. At first I thought it was heat cramps or something to do with that, but hours later after I had hydrated it returned. Every day after that it became a lot worse.

The odd thing is it never hurts when I'm lifting or straining, it hurts when I'm sitting down or standing around. It didn't affect my training at all until yesterday. Until then I'd just been dealing with it by waiting until it had passed or it wasn't as painful to start a set. Yesterday was a whole different story, though, because the pain was already pretty bad while I was at work (at least a 4 or 5).

After work I came home to quickly shower before I hit the gym, and while I was washing my manhood I noticed the feeling pretty badly. The closest things I can compare it to are having someone reaching inside my abdomen and twisting, turning, tearing and other painful actions, and being kicked in the balls over and over. After the shower I did my usual after work stuff and then headed to the gym. I barely even got warmed up before the pain it the worst it's ever been.