Possible Growth Stunting

I was talking to my friend the other day and he claims that lifting heavy as to increase a max will eventually stunt one’s growth. I have heard this before but assumed it was only during puberty. I am 21 and 5’8 165-170 (yeah i am small, i am just starting out). I doubt I will get any taller, but on the off chance that I’ve got something left, is this true, is my new found love going to stunt any possible growth I have left?

this may be a stupid question, but i am concerned…
i wouldnt mind being 5’9

Tell him to prove it. If he says his doc said it, tell him to tell his doc to prove it. I have not come across any evidence that says lifting stunts growth. Google it if you like.

A paper on the study of bone growth called “The effect of prolonged physical training on the properties of long bone: a study of Wolff’s Law” has a little blurb at the end about a study done on mice where past a certain point, exercise (in the case of the study, running on a treadmill with an incline) cause bone volume and length to decrease.

lifting while young etc may actually benefit growth, it forces the bones to adapt to the load get thicker store more calcium etc. May aid growth and goes a long way to helping ward off bone disorders late in life

Phill

[quote]Sliver wrote:
A paper on the study of bone growth called “The effect of prolonged physical training on the properties of long bone: a study of Wolff’s Law” has a little blurb at the end about a study done on mice where past a certain point, exercise (in the case of the study, running on a treadmill with an incline) cause bone volume and length to decrease.[/quote]

LOL. First, this is a rat study. Second, there is a huge problem if someone relates RUNNING RATS ON A TREADMILL and the decrease of long bone growth to humans and WEIGHT LIFTING.