Poorman's Diet

I am a college student with a limited budget. I am curious about any economical nutrition options my fellow T-Members might know of

EX:
-Good Proteins
-Good Fats
-Complex Carbs
-Best Bang-For-Your-Buck Supplements

I already know about:
-PB and J Sandwiches
-Spaghetti
-Canned Tuna
-Sardines
-Brown Rice

***Any POORMAN PROTEIN SHAKE Recepies
***Things to BOOST us poor people’s IMMUNE SYSTEMS

The best things for me are eggs and cheap chicken. After that I look for deals on other meats in bulk or on some closeout deal.(99 cent/lb ground beef the other day). A Sam’s Club just opened up near my school and I couldn’t be happier.

I’m a big fan of turkey chili. With or without beans, it gives a good amount of protein and fiber and minimal fat. Only problem is in most brands there is a bit of sugar added.

[quote]JackedUp wrote:
I am a college student with a limited budget. I am curious about any economical nutrition options my fellow T-Members might know of[/quote]

Spend an hour at the grocery store, read some labels, get out the calculator, and figure it out yourself.

That’s what I did while in college, and it worked well for me.

Read “school days I and II” By Steve Berardi they will help a ton

Phill

-Value sized bags of frozen vegetables (not peas and corn). Not only are they cheap but they’re already prewashed and chopped. And you can find most of your basic veggies frozen; broccoli, carrots, cauliflower, spinach, greens, okra, green beans, onion, sweet peppers… Get what you can’t find frozen fresh. Sweet potatos are good to keep you healthy, tons of vit C. Not yams though, go figure.

-Value sized bags of frozen fruits (especially blueberries, blackberries and strawberries for your immune system).
-Value sized frozen meats. Its hard to find lean beef in large quantities so go with chicken or drain the fat off the beef when cooking.