POLL: Spotter?

I’ve been doing mainly dumbbell presses for my chest for the past 2 years. Originally the main reason I started doing dumbbells over barbells was cause I wanted a change… having done barbell for most my life. But then it became necessity, because after I graduated from college and moved to Boston for a job, I no longer had a lifting partner (spotter).

I really want to start doing barbell work again for chest. How many of you guys do barbell work without spotters? I am personally quite scared to do that but given that most of the training philsophies on this board center around “not training to complete failure” it seems more feasible. (I used to always train every set to failure so I always needed a spot. This is no longer true.)

Is there no one working out where you do that can give you a spot?

I do I usally work out incline with 255 four stes of 8 if I need a spotter I usally ask the dude at the front desk he’s only sitting on his ass. But i feel your pain I used to have a partner but he got lame and I kicked him to the curb now all alone.

I never use a spotter unless I am going for a PR. I’ve never done a weight that I can’t get at least 2 solid reps in on my own, either.

Ko and I spot each other. Besides the “being there” for the PR’s, it’s to provide each other another eye on form and for the mental boost.

spotters in most cases are utilized for the mental boost, not so much for safety imo.

assuming you have a power rack, a spotter (for safety) is never needed.

Use a cage. No spotter required.

My wife and I work out in our basement. Its a great workout for her…running from side to side pulling plates off the bar haha. Which is why we are anxious for our new EFS power rack to arrive, no more death struggles! (Though getting stuck is good for that max effort strain)