PLer Reducing BF But Maintaining Strength

So after searching through numerous forums and websites for useful information concerning fat loss for powerlifters or just strength athletes in general I have given up. Every source I find talks about muscle size and fat loss but I’m really not all that concerned about muscle size.

I started lifting last November and have made good strength gains since then. When I started I was 108kg at 1,80m but now I’m 116kg and alot stronger… and bigger.

I want to reduce about 16kg of bodyfat but maintain as much strength as possible as stated in the title.
So I want to ask you strength athletes and powerlifters on how I should engage in this. Should I do as the bodybuilders say: High protein, low carb. Weight training with alot of cardio(HIIT) etc. or are there different aspects to it when it comes to strength training?

I should point out that I’m not a fan of strict diets(meal 1: 6 eggs, 60gr of oatmeal etc.) nor do I care about muscle size so I don’t care if my muscles get smaller but still maintain strength if that makes any sense.

Thanks in advance,

BSS

Don’t change your training at all. Some people add cardio on non-training days. You can do that depending on what your time frame is.

add hill sprints, or a sled if you’ve got one good luck.

I like the low-carb, high-protein diets for fat loss. Protein will be especially important as you drop your calories below maintainance. You really can’t go wrong with ground beef, apples and carrots.

As far as cardio goes, easing your way into will be important especially if you have never done a lot of higher impact activities. Personally, I like 20-30 minute sessions at a moderate pace on an elliptical machine for cardio (or just weight cutting). It just doesn’t seem to mess with my lifting too much like doing sprints or jump roping would.