Please Help On My Bench Press!

I basically need help on getting my Bench press max up by 120 pounds within 1 year and 7 months. And i was wondering what type of reps and weight should i be using.

ome backround info on me is that i started lifting when i was a sophmore in highschool to stop being picked on i went from a 85 pound bench press to a 200 pound one and im currently a junior weighing 165 pounds my goal is for 320 to be one of the top five in my highschool on the weight training board for 300+ my workout includes right now doing 165x8 175x6 180x3 190x2 and after my workouts i also once a week incorportate 1 rep maxes in my workout? just wanted some tips because i cant get above 200 for some reason

http://www.t-nation.com/readTopic.do?id=459808

Read this and then do a search on bench press

Westside!! Go to www.elitefts.com there are plenty of articles on bench there written by Dave Tate. You can also look for his articles here at T-Nation. I recommend his “Bench 600” article here. I hope that helps. Good luck.

Rich

Start working your whole body. A rising tide lifts all ships.
(especialy the back. You don’t want to find out the hard way what happens if you don’t)

[quote]rich44 wrote:
Westside!! Go to www.elitefts.com there are plenty of articles on bench there written by Dave Tate. You can also look for his articles here at T-Nation. I recommend his “Bench 600” article here. I hope that helps. Good luck.

Rich[/quote]

I second this, just make sure that your exercise rotation is made of exercises that the bottom of your bench, you may want to do something like this:

2 weeks of each:

Index on rings bench press work up to a 5RM

2 Board Press (pinky on rings)work up to a 1RM then take 90% of that weight and do 5 singles.

Index on rings bench press work up to a 3RM, then take 75-80% and do close grip presses tucking your elbows in and bringing bar to upper abs 5 sets of 4-5.

Floor Presses (pinky on rings)work up to 1RM, then 90% x 4-5 singles.