PLEASE Help Me Put a Few Inches On

Just looking for some tips here, preferably from someone over six feet tall, or with unusually long arms for their height.

Brief background:

I’m a 6’4 200 lb lifter right now (down 10 lbs since I started biking all over denver). I have about 6 years of lifting experience and am an ACSM certified personal trainer…long story short I pretty much know my shit (for the most part!).

I have tried what seems like every program in the book to put inches on my biceps. I don’t have much trouble hypertrophying my triceps and have a nice “horseshoe” look to them, but the biceps still lack. Last I measured they were just about 15" which for a tall guy not looking for massive bulk isn’t too bad, but I would definately want them coming in at 17" at some point without adding fat.

I first tried taking about 2 weeks off of training period since I had been going hard for what seemed like months with some progress. Unfortunately, the rest helped my overall strength but the biceps atrophied down about an inch. I retain decent strength as I can straight bar curl 135 for a few reps with a slight cheat (I’ve often heard that slight cheating helps tall lifters overcome the mechanical disadvantage).

Anyone got any schemes that worked for them? I’m open to anything, I’ve tried high reps, cluster sets, rest/pause training and some simple 3 x 10 across 3 or 4 exercises.

Well im not 6ft but i think i see a problem already. You’re 6’4 and 200lb. Perhaps your diet is what needs to be fixed.

Aside from that, there are dozens of Bi workouts. Ramping, pyramding, Dropsets, supersets, trisets, giant sets. Everything works. Put forth the effort before you attempt to reap the benefits.

[quote]bhetz864 wrote:
Just looking for some tips here, preferably from someone over six feet tall, or with unusually long arms for their height.

Brief background: