T Nation

Please Critique My Workout

Alright guys, I'm new to this stuff, and I want to take my athletic game to a new level. I've done training in the past, but have never really made my own program. I am fairly fast already, (4.8 40) but of course I want to get faster. Leg strength is my first priority, as right now they are toothpicks. I'm also trying to and fix my small amount of kyphosis. Basically I want to incorporate all the movements and muscle groups.

So here's my very shaky program.

Day 1 of week.
Squat 6 sets: 5-5-5, 3-3-3
Conventional DL 5-5-5, 3-3-3

Tib raises + Leg press calf raises. I do as few sets as possible until I get 100 reps in.

Day 2.
Barbell overhead shoulder presses 3 sets of 10
Row machine 3 sets of 10
Lat pull down
Seated dumbbell rows

Day 3.
Bench press 4 sets of 8
Various ab exercises

I donâ??t know about the rest of the week.

Iâ??d like to add these exercises.

Skull crushers
Shrugs
Cuban presses
Incline bench presses
Decline bench presses
Lunges

Thanks in advance for your help.

Want leg strength? Squat 2 times per week. Tuesday and saturday for example. Fill out the rest of your program using 5/3/1, Arnolds Golden Six or Starting strength. Bust your balls in the gym. Eat alot and make sure you get enough sleep and recover well.

To add to the above:

Most importantly - BELIEVE in your program so that you will follow it. If that means using someone else's program, or hiring someone to make one for you, then that's what you should do. If you can buy 100% into your own program, then go for it.

Also, you have to have progression built into the program, and what to do if you can't keep up with the progression. This is at least as important as which lifts you do (as long as your program is anything reasonable).

What exactly does progression mean?

progression is making the weight lifted heavier over the course of time. For example, adding 5lbs every workout.