Plea To Combat Athlete/s

All the competitive ex competitive athletes out there i thought i would start a thread where we could discuss training, swop tips and give each other ideas for pre fight conditioning etc.I myself would like to start fighting in tournaments/compititions in about 8 months but i have no knowledge of my own to do with fighting i will be concentrating on boxing and kickboxing and am calling upon the vast knowledge of the t-mag fighters to help condition me into the ultimate fighting machine over the next 8 months or so.Before anyone starts shouting about searching and reading the new issue i’ve done all that and read all the previous post pertaining to this!

Spar, spar and spar again…lol! Actually all this combat conditioning is great, and I use some of it, however as a competitive martial artist, I find that my best conditioning takes place by sparring lightweights and flyweights. I am 240 lbs, so I am a heavyweight. Lightweights and flyweights are FAST and usually have LOTS of stamina. Yes you have to pull your punches and kicks when sparring them, however, after sparring a lightweight for a few weeks, I get in the ring with a heavyweight and they seem like they are moving thru molassas. I don’t know what you weigh, however going against lighter and faster fighters in the sparring ring does wonders for my stamina…and speed. The only thing that is hard is that you get used to pulling your punches against them (trust me…I don’t want to use a full power strike against a 130 pound 19 year old…I would destroy him) and you have to be conscious that you don’t do that once you get against your own weight class again. Aside from that caution…find yourself one of those fast little guys…and let him beat you around for a while…cause it is gonna take a bit until your reaction speed can keep up with those fast little suckers!! LOL!