T Nation

Plateauing

Hey everyone! I've been powerlifting for almost 2 months now, and I'm getting ready for my first meet in Chicago in April. I have been on my routine for 8 weeks now and I might be starting to see a plateau. Here is my week to week progress up to this point for the squat and bench. (Deadlift I only do a couple times a month, too much for my back.)

Week 1: Squat- 5x3x315 (5 sets of 3 reps for 315 lbs), Bench- 5x3x225
Week 2: Squat- 5x3x325, Bench- 5x3x230
Week 3: Squat- 5x3x335, Bench- 5x3x235
Week 4: Squat- 5x3x345, Bench- 5x3x240
Week 5: Did not squat because my back was sore and I needed to rest. Bench- 5x3x245
Week 6: Squat- 5x3x355, Did not Bench this week because of pain in my arm (refer to side note below)
Week 7: Squat- 5x3x365, Bench- 5x3x250 (First 2 sets of bench I hit all 3 reps, next 3 sets I could only get 2 reps)
Week 8: Squat- 5x3x375(First 3 sets I hit all 3 reps, next two I could only get 2 reps), Bench- 5x3x250(First 3 sets were fine then next two sets I only hit 2 reps)

Sidenote: for about a month, I was playing baseball in a league. I took bench off week 6 because I pitched in a game and I overdid it a little. in result, my arm was taxed, sore, and pretty much dead. for week 7 and 8, I have definitely felt it in my right arm, not pain, but just the inability to push more. basically, my left arm is stronger than my right arm right now.

As for the rest of my routine, here is what it all looks like:

Monday- Squat 5x3, Bench, 5x3, Leg Curls 5x10
Tuesday- off
Wednesday- I switch off between deadlift and stiff legged deadlifts week to week. Deadlift i'll do 3x3, stiff legs i'll do 5x10. Military Press 5x5, CG bench- 3x5, Dips, 3x10
Thursday- Closegrip pullups 3x10, Widegrip pullups 3x10, Barbell rows 5x10, Barbell curls 15, 10, 8, 6, 4
Friday- Light squats for form- 3x5, Light bench for form- 3x5, Incline bench- 5x5