Pinched Nerve? Pec Tear?

Injury: May 2011, was working out with 60 pound dumbbells, went too far down for chest press, felt a little pop/tear in the pec. Next day constant “thumps” in the muscle almost like it had its own pulse, took the next month off.

Everytime i would workout out chest it would get really tight, numbess/tightness in the trap. Haven’t lifted chest in a year. Sucks, couldnt do pushups for a while at all, now i’ve gotten up to 450, so i started lifting dumbbells again for chest. But another injury has sub-sided me for about a week.

Im just nervous getting back to training the symptoms will appear. Does this sound like a pinched nerve?

[quote]KKRake wrote:
Im just nervous getting back to training the symptoms will appear. Does this sound like a pinched nerve?[/quote]

I’m not a doctor, but it doesn’t sound that much like a pinched nerve to me except for maybe the numbness part. My dad got a pinched nerve in his neck that affected his right pec and arm. He never felt a pop or injury or anything. One day he was in the gym repping 315, the next time we went to the gym he couldn’t even do 225. So it doesn’t sound like one, and I hope for your sake it isn’t a pinched nerve, because from what I know, soft tissue injuries are easier/faster/more reliable to heal than nerve stuff.

[quote]csulli wrote:

[quote]KKRake wrote:
Im just nervous getting back to training the symptoms will appear. Does this sound like a pinched nerve?[/quote]

I’m not a doctor, but it doesn’t sound that much like a pinched nerve to me except for maybe the numbness part. My dad got a pinched nerve in his neck that affected his right pec and arm. He never felt a pop or injury or anything. One day he was in the gym repping 315, the next time we went to the gym he couldn’t even do 225. So it doesn’t sound like one, and I hope for your sake it isn’t a pinched nerve, because from what I know, soft tissue injuries are easier/faster/more reliable to heal than nerve stuff.[/quote]