Picking the Right Program

Im a beginner, 6’0 155lb. Ive been runnign starting strength for three weeks, before that was stronglifts. Same problem thats happened to me with stronglifts is currently happening to me with SS now. I made good progress on SS for the first two weeks but this week has been rough- I cut weight back by 15% and still had to decrease more today. Its not my diet, I dont think so anyways, since my weight has been going up. The only thing I could think of is sleep which has been okay, but could be a little better, I usaully get 8-9 hours with some exceptions.

I do endurance training too. Im looking for a good program to supplement this without overdoing it. Im also a part time construction worker and a full time student. I have a lot of stress from my lifestyle so Im really looking for a good minimalist program. SS is a program Id like to stick with… it might be that Im not doing the program properly but I have never failed a lift, though I have had sets where I had to grind out the last few. Anyways, could it be that Im performing the lifts at too high of an intensity?

6’ and 155lbs is pretty light, and considering the endurance training and the construction job, it’s not really too surprising you’re struggling to get stronger.

It is VERY likely that it’s your diet. Post what you ate yesterday, and be honest! Posting a hypothetical perfect day of food for you is not going to be of any use, so be specific about what you really ate and the quantities.

2 Likes

Yeah, I have a pretty small frame. I used to be overweight and lost a lot got skinny and started trying to put some muscle on. So Im pretty careful about my diet. I think I tracked my calories at 2600 yesterday. I have been gaining weight though.

any particular reason you didn’t do what I asked?

Had to get my food log:

Breakfast:

Eggs, 4
Sweet potato 200g
snack:
1/4 cup or so of trail mix

Lunch:
Burger and sweet potato fries

Snack:
Banana
2 table spoons of peanut butter

Dinner: