Physical Therapist Says No Benching. What Say You?

As a beginner my body is a walking imbalance. Tight quads/hips, week hamstrings & glutes, tight low back, week stomach etc. However, my greatest imbalance is a strong tight chest, with a comparably week upper/mid back.

I decided to go to a well respected sports PT to see if I could get things corrected as my posture is far from ideal, and overhead pressing, squatting, and dead lifting are becoming more difficult. After a full assessment the PT recommends I stop benching and any other front side dominant exercises like push ups and focus purely on training my back. He recommended lots of rows, pull ups, and anything that will strengthen my week muscles. Once I have gained some strength, possibly several months, then go back to bench, but not before.

What do you think?

I’m currently doing Strong Lifts 5X5 and really like the program. I’ve been on it for about 4 months and have gotten much stronger. I’m hesitant to benching and trying to add more weight, because I’m also cutting and trying to maintain as much muscle mass as possible. So far I’ve dropped from 30% body fat to 24% so I have a long way to go. Losing fat is the most important thing to me and I don’t want to jeopardize my progress.

What would you do?

Understand that that ^^^^ trumps any advice you’re going to find online. Do whatever the PT says.

You can lose plenty of fat by tightening up your nutrition, doing hard conditioning (and/or consistent walking), and training whatever you can in the gym. Even if it’s only: Day 1 - Legs, Day 2 - Vertical Back, Day 3 - Legs, Day 4 - Horizontal Back, that doesn’t necessarily have to be the worst way to train.

3 Likes

Go with what’s in your heart. Well respected PT or not, he doesn’t know you.

In all seriousness, you paid good money to go to a sports PT. You’re now asking for free advice. Even if this advice is worth 10x’s what you paid and the sports PT is only worth half, you see where I’m going with this.