Physical jobs & training

I have had physical jobs all my life, and i currently have one now, does that interfere at all with your training, or does it make it even better in a way? Cause i’m working in a warehouse right now, its pretty physical shit, but not brutal, i’ve worked in the mines a while ago, and man that was the most brutal job i ever had, physically and breathing in all those fumes and crap, holy i had to put it up with that for 8 years, but man it got me in shape. Anyone got any anything to say about jobs they had, and about my comment on training…thanks ahead.

I think Ian King has written about this quite a bit at T-mag. Basically, yes, a hard labor job can negatively affect your gains in the gym. Many need to cut back on their volume to compensate. However, the question is: how are your gains? Any signs of overtraining? If you’re progressing nicely then I wouldn’t worry too much.

Mike: I also work in a warehouse AND train. I also have diabetes. I have to train before going to work. I find I need more recovery time. I stick with mostly the basics, which is working.
The worst interference I have had has been from so called diabetes “educators” who put me on low protein muscle wasting diets. Train, and train hard.