T Nation

Phone Number for Personal Trainer

I'm thinking of getting a number like FITNESS

e.g. 0945-3486377

Would this "look better"/be better for business than a "normal" phone number?

(in case it wasn't clear, I'm a personal trainer. No flaming, please)

Thanks,
Eisen

mfw "personal trainer"

No, it will look lame. You will attract clients that are annoying and only looking for 1800-QUICK-FIX.
Build up your business by reputation via word of mouth.

tweet

Well, a client gained 18 lbs in 6 months (no fat), and one gained ~27 in the same amount of time (though there was a bit of muscle memory at work). Since I only have 4 total clients, and one began very little time ago...

Also, I learnt that some people just aren't motivated to go to the gym on their own...
And, 'round this here parts, the ultra-wide-grip pull-down to the back is the go-to exercise for back development... So, my clients are happy they found me.

Anyyyway...

Back to the subject.

Yes a vanity number will be more memorable to potential clients.

Be sure to give your number to all the chics that you meet too.

I wouldn't have thought it would actually increase business and therefore justify the expense. There are probably a lot better ways you could use any available promotion budget. I read something by Alwyn Cosgrove about the people that say "I want to train with a pt but I'd like to lose a bit of weight first," saying that the failure there is that you are not the first thing they think of when it comes to weight loss, so you need to change that in order to be successful.

1-800-PUMPING

No further responses required

This guy is onto something. The only thing that number will do is make it easier to remember but given most numbers are available at the touch of a button these days it's not even that useful any more.

No one likes those numbers

Searching for letters is stupid

Just make a website
Make business cards