Philer's Training Log

Hey guys, first post here. Been wanting to start a log for a while now. Finally doing it! A little about me, I’m a personal trainer, been doing it for over a year. I have a degree in human kinetics, so I got a pretty good knowledge base and background in kinesiology. Just starting to get into powerlifting, I’m hoping to have my first competition in early 2012. I don’t use any gear on any lifts.
Here are some of my stats:

• Weight: 155lbs
  • Height: 5’7
  • Deadlift: 340 lbs
  • Bench: 265 lbs
  • Squat: 255 lbs
  • Military Press: 150 lbs

Main goals right now is to get my deadlift up to 405 and squat much more weight, without increasing bodyweight. I’m pretty happy with my bench right now, but if it goes up I’ll take it! I should also add that my mobility sucks and I want to be able to do a sots press.

Right now I’m on my second cycle of 5/3/1.

Today was my deadlift day.

Foam roll
Mobility

Deadlift: Hybrid stance between sumo and conventional, double overhand grip.
3 warm-up sets then work sets.
260 x 5, 275 x 5, 295 x 5

Stiff legged deadlift
135 x 10, 185 x 10, 205 x 8

X-band walks superset with
3 sets of 8 reps using red and green bands

Reverse crunches with stability ball.
3 x 12

I usually do about a 15-30 minute warm-up, before each lift, consisting of mobility and foam rolling. I’m a pretty tight individual, so improving mobility and flexibility is key for me. Overall session went well today. Happy with the deadlifts, grip started giving way on the last set. On the stiff-legged deads my grip started giving way on the last set even with chalk, so I called it quits. Core strength definitely needs to improve, because those felt too “hard.” I will try and post pics and vids whenever I can!

Philer out

Bench Press day

Foam roll
Mobility

Bench Press
Warm up sets then
205 x 5, 210 x 5, 225 x 4, 135 x 5, 135 x5

Incline DB bench Press
65 x 10, 65 x 8.

Chin-ups
BW x 8, BW x 6, BW x 8.

Seated row superset with