Ph.D.'s

I recently found out that getting a Ph.D. is free, plus you get a stipend and health benefits to do it. I always planned on just getting a Master’s after college, but that doesn’t sound too shabby. I was wondering how many of you guys have gotten a Ph.D., what the experience was like, and was it worth it?

5 years of more school really troubles me, but maybe the payoff will offset the time. Personally, mine would be in chemical engineering and I want to focus on research.

I’ve found it to be a very rewarding experience. I’m also a ChE, and I’m finishing up my MS in May and starting at a new school in August. I have to warn you that there is pretty much NO funding for MS projects in chem e, so you’ll have to take what you can find. Where are you looking at?

I am still an undergrad, but I honestly can’t imagine anyone regretting the decision to get a PhD once they have it. You can’t really be out of work if you have a PhD- at the least you could be an assistant professor somewhere.

PhD programs are not necessarily “free”. This is very much dependent on the school you are planning to attend and the department in which you plan to study.

In some cases, you can either get funding without doing much other than being a student (for a few years) … this is generally called a fellowship. In other cases, you can get either a teaching or research assistantship in which you will teach (or TA) a class or you will assist a professor with his or her work.

In either case, you will put in about 20 hours of work a week on your duties (of course the 20 is the “textbook” statement … in reality you might do 10 … or, if you have a bastard of a professor you are working for, maybe 40). In addition you will be doing your coursework (about 3 courses per term) … and coming up with your own research ideas (unless your area overlaps with the professor you are working for).