Pgy3 Winter Training

I wanted to start a training log on here to keep me honest while I’m trying to get into shape.

Background:
I’m a third year medical resident in a five year training program. I work about 100 hrs a week often at weird hours and I frequently shift back and forth between working night shifts day shifts and occasionally 24+ hour shifts.

I’m also an orthodox Jew which carries with it a whole host of restrictions that tend to make training more difficult. this includes only being able to consume kosher food, protein powders/ supplements. It also means that I don’t train on the sabbath. Culturally, it means that EVERY friday night and saturday I am at the equivalent of a thanksgivign meal (not an exageration). We are talking wine, multiple animals that were alive at one point and more side dishes and desserts than is healthy for anyone.

I’ve been able to stave off complete obesity so far in my training but I’m sick of seeing pounds go up on the scale and not on my squat over the past few years. I’ve managed to keep some degree of training going throughout residency and found that certain things are just not tenable. Lifting heavy more than twice a week leaves me too drained to think clearly when I’m working 12 hour shifts in the ER. Long training sessions are also out if I want a minimum of 6 hours of sleep a night. Food prep is key but unfortunately I’m also a bit of a foodie and I like celebrating the end of difficult rotations with fancy dinners out.

The plan for this current cycle is as follows:
Diet: 3 meals a day with a snack, nothing crazy something that was alive at one point with something that grew from the ground and is not a potato.
for snack i like alternating between almonds and protein shakes. Overall goal is 1gprotein / lb body weight and <100g carbs / day