T Nation

Pete Rubish Hyperextensions

I recently seen Pete Rubish did a 435 something extension and I did some more digging to find hes been doing these for years. It only makes sense that this exercise is a pretty decent part of petes ability to lock out some serious ass weight in a relatively bad position at the top of his pull. I decided to try out the extentsions today. HOLY CRAP. I'm not at petes level of deadlift but I'm by no means a beginner. It took me 45 minutes to get through 5 sets of 15 with just the bar. No lie I was more pumped in my ass and certain parts of my back than any other time I've been lifting. I've ran smolov,super squats, bulgarian you name it I've ran it, nothing even compared to this.

Just wanted to state that if your lockout is not the better half of the deadlift and you dont do these. I highly recommend it.

Ya I like doing those too, but my gym now doesn’t have one of those roman chairs or whatever they are called. I liked to use a really heavy dumbbell too and just focus on using my glutes to bring me up. Definitely an underrated movement in my opinion.

This thread’s title made me think “ah, all that ground beef and instant mashed potatoes finally caught up with him.” lol

But really, I think heavy back raises in general are underrated. Barbells, dumbbells, anything.

I found hyperextensions to be one of the best assistance lifts when deadlifting conventional. Since switching to sumo I haven’t done them in a long time. But they should definitely be considered for deadlifters that don’t cheat.

[quote]kollak95 wrote:
This thread’s title made me think “ah, all that ground beef and instant mashed potatoes finally caught up with him.” lol[/quote]
He made one too many freaking delicious foods videos ToT

Orlando Green also does these, I believe that’s where Pete got the idea. If I remember correctly, Orlando was pulling close to 900.