Pet Peeves (Or Shit You Don't Like!)

I wanted to start this thread for a while but never got around to it - don’t get to my laptop very often.

Ever since I started training or just being around weights, I’ve noticed/overheard people talking about or doing a lot of different stupid shit.

For example, the other day I heard one of my friends say “Nawh, I don’t take protein powder, I don’t want to get too big” … He’s one of my best friends, so, I forgive him. But, people say stuff like that allll too often.

Also, I’m sure most people have heard the “battle cry of the gym pussy” before: “I don’t want to get big, I just want to get toned!” Like, really, what is this shit? Lol.

Now, post yours.

G.

I don’t worry about what stupid people think/do. It has done great things for my blood pressure.

I had a friend ask me for advice on a workout program. I pulled up an article that Wendler wrote on this site, told him to read the whole thing. I was about to tell him to buy the ebook as well, when he scrolls down to the percentages and says, “oh this is all i need” and then asks if he is suposed to use the percentages for assistance work as well. I tell him no, you use it for bench, squat, press, and deads, and he says oh all I need it for is bench, I dont work out my legs because I run so much.

He’s a sophmore in college and his max bench is 155. I had lost all faith in him, but he eventually agreed to do a push/pull/legs split from kingbeef’s thread.

Id say theres a 2% chance he follows through.

Another one of these threads? Oh joy. Who gives a shit about other people? Focus on yourself.

The only thing that really bothers me any more is when someone’s stupidity gets in the way of something I am doing. i.e. Getting too close while I’m deadlifting or something like that. That’s mostly just an issue of overall safety and probably messes up my concentration just a little. Other than that, I don’t pay too much mind to the 'tards I’m surrounded by.