Personal Weight Loss Help

So I’m a big guy 6’2" 280lb 30-40% bf. I’ve been lifting for about 4 years now and can tell by my strength that it is working, but I do look fatter. My Dr wants me on a 2200 calorie, low carb, high cardio diet. Is this really what is right for me? I am 38 and He said my health is great I just need to lose the fat.

What does your daily consumption look like? Write out what you eat daily.

I’d also download my fitness pal or Lose it and track your daily consumption for the next three days. Don’t do anything different diet wise. That way you have a bench mark for where you are at.

I’d then take a systematic approach - each step lasting a week or so - removing unnecessary crap.

1. Soda or other non-alcoholic drinks that have calories (replace with water)
  2. Desserts
  3. Replace fast food with better food choices
  4. Drop alcoholic drinks to once a week and limit to lower calorie options (whisk(e)y, wine, etc)
  5. Reduce Calorie intake

For cardio, no harm in adding 20-30 minutes of incline walks, twice a week, keeping the heart rate between 110-130

2 Likes

A few things jump out to me here:

1. 30-40% bodyfat isn’t great health. It mightn’t be killing you right this minute, and currently your body might have its shit together (blood pressure, resting heart rate, cholesterol levels, etc) but over time that’ll change. So your doc is spot on, you need to lose the fat because it’s a timebomb.