Personal trainers

Hey any and all of you t-mag addicts that are now or have been personal trainers, I have a question for you. I am asking you guys because if you read T-mag then you are definitely a cut above the rest of the trainers I have ever met. Here’s my problem/question, I am kinda discontent with my current job, I am also a full time student. I guess my question is, should I give personal training a shot? My current job is easy, and pays OK. It is just kinda boring, and I have limited contact with people. However, it is very low stress and I get to read and surf the net alot. I have a pretty decent knowledge of exercise principles of what works, what doesn’t and I design workouts for my frinds alot, those who stick with them are allways satisfied with the results. I have about 3 years of experience with sports training, and 3 years of weight training. I could easily pick up a certification, and there are gyms in my area that probably don’t even require certs to begin with anyway. Now as far as what I can expect getting started at a gym. I was curious as to how much I can expect to make, and if it was a job worth doing while going to school. Or is it kinda lame and totally fake and sales oriented to the point that you find yourself feeling like a shmuck at times? The trainers I have met at the local gyms definitely come off as shmucks. Your input would be greatly appreciated, thanks in advance.

How much you get paid depends a lot on what part of the country youre training in. Its also a good idea to get a good education and lots of experience. A certification with a good reputation is a good idea as well. The more experience and education you have down on paper the better off you are. Even if you do know more than people who have that you may not be taken seriously. Hope that helps