Personal Trainers in Canada

For the personal trainers in Canada:

where did you certify?
how long did it take?
do you train private clients, or work in a gym?
did you need some additional certifications to be able to become a personal trainer?

The reason I’m asking is I just started university and wanted to earn some extra money. Being a kinesiology student, I figured personal training is the way to go.

I wanted to certify with CanFitPro, but you need a CPR certification. If you want to train private clients, you need to pay for insurance. I wanted to know if the companies that you certified with had similar requirements.

Also, could I avoid the insurance thing if I have my clients sign a waiver form?

bump

anyone? anyone at all?

Get Can-Fit and your CPR and get a job at Goodlife. They are usually hiring all the time. This way you got the exposure and insurance covered. What city are you in??

[quote]DUKE ZX-9R wrote:
Get Can-Fit and your CPR and get a job at Goodlife. They are usually hiring all the time. This way you got the exposure and insurance covered. What city are you in??[/quote]

I’m in the GTA. Do you have the Can-Fit certification?
I heard that in commercial gyms, the personal trainers earn $16.50 per hour, whereas with private clients, it’s significantly higher. I was just wondering if I could get a legalized waiver form, and not worry about insurance, or if the waiver form would cost me too much, making the commercial gym a better choice.

That’s about the averege pay, and if you ask me that’s pretty good for a part time job, or you could be working at wallmart stacking shelves for 8/hour.
But don’t you think that if it would be that easy to be a free lance trainer everyone would be doing it? I thought about it but you need a client base first and sometimes equipment if you want to do at home training. Easier said than done.
Working for a chain makes things easier and a lot less head ache especially when going to school.