T Nation

Permanent Grip Loss Issue & Training

Ok, I'm a disabled vet, and I have a bad right hand, and so far, the heaviest dumbbell I've been able to pick up is 50lbs, for rows, and using a lifting strap and gloves.

I have to accept that I'll never be able to lift like I did 11 years ago at age 33 due to my injury, and that blows out loud. But do any of you know of lifting aids besides the gloves and straps that could assist me in upping my weights a little? Or am I probably doomed to low weights and high reps.

Size isn't really the thing for me right now anyways, I'm trying to lose a massive amount of weight that I acccumulated after my power lifting days got shot in the ass years ago. Matter of fact, this will be only my 4th week of training after all those years. I am 6'1.5" and weigh around 335 I think ~ don't have access to a scale, so I'm just guessing my weight loss over the past weeks.

I'm losing the weight successfully at least :)). But when my hand went south, I was a pretty solid 250lbs.

I'm just full of issues I guess.

Right now I am in fact doing like 2-4 sets of 8-20 reps of stuff, mixing it up best I can, and using protein, surge pre and post drinks, and just stopped creatine to un-bloat.

Thus far, 50lb dumbbells are enough, but there will come a time when I want to pick up the big boys for misc. movements, and want to be ABLE to do it.

Have no access to squat rack where I work out (general fitness place with nothing but smith machines and misc. other machines, and a dumbbell rack)....so I'll not be squatting, or doing deadlifts, or any other exercise that requires a free barbell.

I'll post my routine in another post..., and maybe someone can recommend exercises that don't require a mind numbing grip.

Thanks for any input about anything I can do regarding right hand grip. Like I said, the damage is permanent, and my grip is weak by my own standards.

Ya all take care.
Sean

These may help. Look for weight lifting hooks online.