Periodization

Hi,
I’m a newbie to the forum. Just wondering about something I read in one of Ian King’s articles. He meantioned the use of “periodization” during cutting cycles. From what I gathered this had something to do with the volume/intensity of training when trying to cut. Could someone please more precisely define the term?
Furthermore, I’m planning to go on a cutting phase at the beginning of May (after my exams). I’m about 10-12% body fat. I can still see my abs, but I’m starting to smooth out and have been bulking since Jan. Any suggestions on split, volume, intensity, etc.? Currently I’m on a 4 day split, with Wed. Sat. and Sun. as passive rest days.

Basically, periodization promotes long-term and consistent improvements in training/performance by variations in training specificity, intensity, and volume. It is a staple of most athletic programs, but may be used more loosely when dealing with bodybuilding (or whatever your specific interests are).
Through any type of training, your body goes through “general adaptation syndrome” and you begin to see decreased results as current stimuli have less effect on your neuromuscular (or other) system. Therefore, specific training types are cycled within 6-8 week periods throughout the year for a desired effect in performance.
For example, a collegiate running back may go through 6 mesocycles (the 6-8 wk periods I was talking about) throughout the year (also called a macrocycle). A probable sequence of mesocycles may be (starting at season’s end): 1. hypertrophy/endurance, 2.basic strength, 3.strength/power, 4.power/speed, 5.peaking, 6.maintainence/championship play.