T Nation

Periodization

I would like to know what method of periodization people are generally follonwing these days?
Linear: e.g. Hypertrophy phase 2-3 weeks, then strenth phase 2-3 weeks, power phase 2-3 weeks
Or Non linear where you train Power, strenght and hypertrophy all in the same week and rotate every 2-3 weeks, or pendulum type periodization where you train Hypertophy for week 1, moderate intensity week 2, then strenth training week 3 etc
Which method is the best?

Regards

Jay

Oh I forgot to mention my main aim is to gain mass

Have you ever tried reading some of the thousands of bodybuilding articles and forum posts on THIS SITE (which would require some clicking and moving of a mouse and PATIENCE), specifically those posted in the Beginner’s section in which CT spells out what noobs need to do, let alone god knows how much material is available all over the web?

Considering you’re a TOTAL noob (we’ve seen your picture and read other stuff from you) you shouldn’t even be concerned with anything but the most basic noob routine which requires hardly any periodization (eg, “flat periodization” if you prefer formal or fancy terms), but just a damn simple full body or upper-lower routine of basic exercises with 3 x 8-12 or 5 x 5!

[quote]BrickHead wrote:
Have you ever tried reading some of the thousands of bodybuilding articles and forum posts on THIS SITE (which would require some clicking and moving of a mouse and PATIENCE), specifically those posted in the Beginner’s section in which CT spells out what noobs need to do, let alone god knows how much material is available all over the web?