Pencil Calves

I normally post in the powerful women section, but I thought this question might be more appropriately posed here.

I have been powerlifting for the last three months, and in that period of time developed some awesome thighs. However, my calves, which have always been small in comparison, have no progressed nearly as much.

My routine involves seated calf raises (about 4 sets of 8) standing one-leg calf raises (4 sets of 15) and I just added weighted standing calf raises.

What do you recommend I do to quickly increase my calf size? What programs or tricks have worked for you?

[quote]Oleena wrote:
What do you recommend I do to quickly increase my calf size? [/quote]

Quickly increase calf size?

Implants.

http://www.T-Nation.com/free_online_article/exercises/exercise_of_the_week_the_luke_sauder_calf_routine

This worked wonders for me

[quote]ignignokt wrote:
Oleena wrote:
What do you recommend I do to quickly increase my calf size?

Quickly increase calf size?

Implants.[/quote]

LOL

Yes, your calves can grow, but unless you were gifted with huge ones to begin with, it will take quite a bit of time and even then they will more than likely never look like those of people who didn’t even have to train them to get them to 17" and bigger.

I train mine daily and while they have improved greatly from the toothpicks I had in high school, they still are my worst body part.

I alternate between seated and standing calf raises most training sessions as the first thing I do.

I rarely employ an EOD high/low (high weight low reps: 10-15) and low/high (low weight high reps 25-30) routine for calves. Good stretch at the bottom and peak at the top. If you can walk the day after, you didn’t do it right. lol

-GB

Calves are the hardest muscle to develop. Either you are gifted with them or work REALLY REALLY hard on them to see minimal gains.

Arnold once said it take 500 hours of calve training to get them into decent shape.