T Nation

Peculiar Situation with HIIT, Cardio, and Weight Training

Hey guys,

I'm new to T Nation and this is my first post. Im writing cause I am wondering about my specific fitness situation and if you all had any advice for me.

I am 6'1 and about 200 pounds. My boddy makeup is somewhat flabby particularly in the chest and abdominal region (yes, I have man boobs). My goal is to slim down to around 180-190 pounds, but also tone and increase muscle. The thing that makes my situation peculiar is that I am a type 1 diabetic who takes a lot of insulin so my hormonal environment is different than the average joe's.

What I'm doing now is this:

-Eating a high protein diet, low carb diet (2-3 shakes per day + lean meats and chicken). I'm also eating plenty of veggies.
-Using BCAA's before, during, and after workout (approximately 12 g)
-Excercsing almost every day after work at 7pm. Traditionally this has just been 30-45 min of steady running mixed with pushups and crunches before and after my run.

My question is this: I have been doing this diet/excercise regimen pretty religiously for about 3 weeks and I have yet to see any results. For that reason, I am looking to incorporate a weight lifting and HIIT component into my weekly excercise plan. However, I haven't been able to find much info about how to balance the three when trying to lose weight and gain toned (no bulky) muscle. Should I do an HIIT circuit after I hit the weights? Is combining HIIT and a long run counterproductive?

One issue that type 1 diabetics face is lower levels of testosterone. I have read that long, steady-state cardio can reduce testosterone levels, where as HIIT and weights have the opposite effect. However I've also read that completely replacing steady-cardio with HIIT is a bad idea from a fat-loss perspective.